Thursday, September 11, 2014

MindWar A Novel



By Andrew Klavan Published by Thomas Nelson

Starts off grabbing you attention and it keeps it on the novel until you finish. It is a great read, very inspiring. I can't wait to read the next novel in this series.

Rick Dial had an accident and he is just barely able to use his legs on crutches, and he never wants to do the exercises to try and get more usage of them cause he believes he will never get back the use that he had before. His mom asks him to go for a walk and his little brother who looks up to him wanted him to as well, and he didn't feel up to fighting with them so he went out to try and walk. He get approached by a man and woman, the woman talks to him and the man knocks him out with a needle.

So the summery is: Rick has great video game skills which was monitored and made him qualify him to participate in a virtual reality world (which was created by an evil scientist to destroy The United States). In this virtual world he will no longer have disabled legs. So he agrees to it and enters the world, to try and save everyone.

This is a very interesting read, please check it out, you won't be sorry.

















Book Description

When Rick lost the ability to run, he came one step closer to becoming a hero.

New High Score! New Record Time!

Rick nodded with grim satisfaction. He laid the game controller aside on the sofa and reached for his crutches.

Rick Dial was the best quarterback Putnam Hills High School had ever seen. Unflappable. Unstoppable. Number 12. But when a car accident left him crippled, Rick’s life as he knew it ended. He disavowed his triumphant past. He ignored his girlfriend. He disappeared into his bedroom—and into the glowing video screen.

But Rick’s uncanny gaming skills have attracted attention. Dangerous attention. Government agents have uncovered a potentially devastating cyber-threat: a Russian genius has created a digital reality called the Realm, from which he can enter, control, and disrupt American computer systems . . . from transportation to defense. The agents want Rick, quick-thinking quarterback and gaming master, to enter the Realm and stop the madman—before he sends America into chaos.

Entering the Realm will give Rick what he thought he’d never have again: a body as strong and fast as it was before the accident. But this is no game, there are no extra lives, and what happens to Rick in the Realm happens to Rick’s body in reality.

Even after Rick agrees to help, he can’t shake the sense that he’s being kept in the dark. Why would a government agency act so aggressively? Can anyone inside the Realm be trusted? How many others have entered before him . . . and failed to return?

In the tradition of Ender’s Game and The Matrix, MindWar is a complex thriller about a seemingly ordinary teenager who discovers a hidden gift—a gift that could make him a hero . . . or cost him everything.

1 comment: